MBGFR players fare well in Nashville

Steve Horvath and Ken KinseyJim BrockMike Laughlin and partner Leo LauzonAlthough small in number, the MBGFR contingent fared well in May's USGFR National Tournament May 15-18 in Nashville, TN.

Three of the four MBGFR golfers brought home trophies from the tournament. Leading the MBGFR charge was Steve Horvath who took home a First Place trophy in Division 1. Steve recorded 98 Stableford points to tie for first with Ken Kinsey of Iowa City, IA.

Jim Brock finished in third place in Division 2 with 89 Stableford points and Mike Laughlin, who serves as USGFR President, teamed with Leo Lauzon of Grand Prairie, AB, Canada, for a first place tie in the team competition. The other first place team was composed of Jim Getchonis of Venore, TN and Steve Hunt of Franklin, TN. Mike's hopes for a trophy in Division 1 were dashed after a first round score of 92. Mike did claim some redemption when he fired a final round gross 76--the low round among all competitors in the three day tournament.

Putting woes plaqued the MBGFR's fourth competitor, Jim Pescatore. 


Tournament headquarters was located in Franklin, Tennessee, a southern suburb of Nashville. The Franklin Breakfast Rotary Club was tournament host. Franklin Rotary members Fred Reynolds and Al Adams did a superb job of organization. The tournament's first round was at the tough Westhaven Golf Club. The course featured 14 elevated greens and unseasonable cool, wet weather caused high scores throughout the field.

The tournament moved to the two Vanderbilt Legends courses for the final two days. Both tracts were mature and immaculately manicured and drew positive comments from all competitors.

The 2011 National Champion (low total gross score) was Patrick Eakes of Greensboro, North Carolina. Patrick will be serving as tournament chair for next year's tournament.

The 2012 USGFR National Championships are scheduled August 1-4 in Greensburo, North Carolina. Visit the USGFR website for additional information and make plans to attend!

The 2013 National Championships are being planned for the California desert.



Guest edges Trotter for Corral win

John GiammancoGuest John Giammanco fired a 77, net 71, to take home the first place honors at our April MBGFR event at Corral de Tierra Country Club in Salinas. Giammanco edged Dick Trotter (72) for the win while third place went to tournament host Jim Pescatore (74) who nosed out Larry Benevento (74) in a card off.

Closest to the flagstick money went to Geary Engles and Mike Laughlin.

Thirteen players participated in the event on an overcast Saturday. Many players complained about the hardness and speed of the perennial Trotter Cup favorite counted 45 putts in his disappointing round.

Thanks to MBGFR member Jim Pescatore for hosting this event!

Trotter Cup leader Larry Benevento gets a C- for driving accuracy.